Full Form of MCh – Eligibility criteria for MCh Course

Full Form of MCh:

Master of Chirurgiae

MCh Full Form is Master of Chirurgiae.

MCh is described to be an Advanced Post Graduate Academic Degree that is given in the field of surgery. Also known as M.Ch, “Magister Chirurgiae” is a Latin term that stands for “Master of Surgery” and is equal to D.M., which represents Doctor of Medicine.

Duration of MCh Course:

The program lasts for two to three years which also includes the examination period. At the end of 3 academic years, the examinations are held including 6 academic terms.

Full Form of MCh - Eligibility criteria for MCh Course
Full Form of MCh – Eligibility criteria for MCh Course

Eligibility criteria for MCh Course:

This degree provides a Doctor with a progressed aptitude in surgery. The course of M.Ch is purely based on practical and other clinical skills that a Doctor is compulsory to possess. These skills usually come in their real life surgeries too. The candidates must have an attendance of over 80% to be allowed to sit in their examinations along with their proper assignments.

Areas of Specialization:

This course helps a doctor to develop special skills in the usage of various educational method as well as techniques. The subjects in M.Ch are mainly Cardio vascular and Thoracic Surgery, Urology, Neuro-Surgery, Surgical Oncology, Gynecological Oncology, etc. The Doctors with a deep knowledge and will of exploring science must opt for M.Ch.

Ch.M., M.Ch., M.Chir., or M.S., whatever you may call it, it is traditionally and widely considered as a very important degree for medical students and shares the same status as Masters of Medicine. Master of Chirurgiae is highly beneficial for medical students, who want to opt for surgical field, and teaches students the advanced technologies and nitty-gritty’s of the profession. In India, Medical Council of India (MCI) regulates Master of Chirurgiae.

In order to qualify for a Master of Surgery, you must possess certain pre-requisite qualifications. The general norm is that anyone who has acquired Master of Science or any other equivalent degree can apply for any other authenticated entrance examinations held across the country like West Bengal Post Doctoral Medical Admission Test (WBDMAT) Maharashtra Super Specialty Entrance Test, All India Institute of Medical Sciences (AIIMS) M.Ch Entrance Examination, etc.